Marriage doesn’t exist only because a couple loves each other

Marriage doesn’t exist only because a couple loves each other. For if they truly love each other, they will know that they are not good enough for each other, and if they care for the best of each other, they will not marry.

Marriage doesn’t exist only because a couple loves each other, but above all, it exists because God loves them both. If I know that God has her; that she is His own, my heart will be at peace because He is the one who can perfectly satisfy all her needs. I need not be disappointed at my shortcomings, and pretend that they are not there, because I know that God, the Perfect One, owns her. Neither do I need to be disappointed with her shortcomings, because He owns me, too. And in Him I find a perfect partner. He is the one who can really satisfy all my needs.


About this entry