There is a place

“If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.” (Matthew 16:24)

I think this is a very nice song. Unfortunately I don’t know who the author is.

Verse 1
There is a place, high in my mind,
where lofty thoughts, ideals fly high.
But in that place, Lord You must reign,
and I must cease to think I’m wise.

Verse 2
There is a place, locked in my will,
where I would move as I would choose.
But in that place, Lord You must reign,
and I must loose my will for Thine.

Verse 3
There is a place hid in my heart,
where secret dreams and hope I guard.
But in that place, Lord You must reign,
and I must lay them down to die.

Verse 4
There was a place, cold burial ground,
where all my sins and grieves were bound.
But from that place Lord You were raised,
now I in You through death shall reign.

Verse 5
There’ll be a place, O glorious day,
where pain and death be done away,
and in that place Lord You must reign,
and we shall sing Thee ceaseless praise.


About this entry