17 Stars

“Can you bind the beautiful Pleiades?Can you loose the cords of Orion? Can you bring forth the constellations in their seasons or lead out the Bear with its cubs?” (Job 38:31-32)

After a rain that lasted for almost a day, the night sky was quite clear yesterday. I stood at the balcony and gazed upon the sky. I began to count the stars, and I could see 17 of them. I seldom saw as many stars here. Singapore is too bright, and the sky is always cloudy. So it was an achievement to see 17 stars yesterday.

It reminds me of an experience I will never forget. It was still very early in the morning. A small wooden boat was moving slowly. I could feel the dampness of the wooden plank where I was lying. As I gaze to the sky, what an amazing view it was! I had never seen as many stars before. There were thousands of them, twinkling, filling every parts of the vast horizon. I could even see the nebulae. It was really wonderful.

It sometimes need a breathtaking night sky to remind me how small I am. Compared to the majesty, the grandeur, of the universe which God created, how small is man! And yet, how often do I act as if I am big, or other people are big, whereas God is small? A look at the sky would do no harm. Even 17 stars are enough to let you see the bigger picture.


About this entry