Who is our life?

I was looking at the ground that day, when I noticed a maggot (I am not sure whether it was a maggot or a worm; it was small and it had no hairs and no legs). It was wriggling violently. Ants were crawling over it, probably biting all over its body. I kept my eyes on it. More and more ants were coming. It didn’t give up. It was twisting and turning, trying to get rid of itself from the ants.

It is amazing to realise that even in a tiny creature like a maggot, there is life. It was life that give it the power to wriggle, and not to give up, despite more and more ants biting its body. Isn’t it a wonder that a tiny creature like this is living?

What is life? so powerful it is that it gives us power to breathe, to move, to communicate, to reason, to respond, to will, to live? What is this power that is operative in every living creature without us having to command it to do its multiple tasks? that we, for most of the time, probably take it for granted, until it was time for it to leave?

What is life? Is it our heartbeat? Is it our brainwave? Is it our breath? The signs of life we can observe, but just what is life? How do you define it?

I was surprised (and haven’t stopped to wonder) when I read what the Apostle Paul says about life. Life is not defined with what, but with who. He writes in Colossians 3:4, “When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.” Indeed, Jesus himself says, “I am … the life” (John 14:6).

“… Christ, who is your life, ….” These words still echo in my mind. Who is your life? Is it yourself? or is it Christ? “… I no longer live, but Christ lives in me” (Gal 2:20).

Oh, how far I am to the understanding of my life as Christ!


About this entry