I’M BLIND!!

I read a passage about Jesus healing a man born blind in John Chapter 9 today and I learn a few lessons there.

Some definitions of blind commonly found in dictionaries are sightless, unable to see, or visually handicapped. But I rather see it as the condition without light. Just put me and a blind man in a room with total darkness, without even a ray of light can enter, then you can say the two of us is no different. I am as blind as the blind man; We are in the same boat. I’m only different from the blind man if we are in the places with light.

Relating to that fact, this John Chapter 9 is like a confirmation and further explanation of the previous chapter (Chapter 8) where Jesus make a claim that He is the Light of the world.

John 8:12
When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

And Jesus repeats His declaration again in Chapter 9:5
While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.

So John chapter 9 is not about blindness, it is about Light of the world.

The man born blind finally receive His sight because he believes what Jesus, Light of the world, commanded him. But the blind man is not the only blind person mentioned there; in fact he is only one of the many. But he is different from the rest because he is the only physically blind while the rest (the Pharisees) are spiritually blind.

So it’s clear there are two kind of blindness: physically and spiritually. If we make a matrix of the two then we can find 4 combination with one example of each combination:

1. Physically and spiritually blind – the blind man before encounter with Jesus
2. Physically blind but spiritually aware – remember: Fanny J. Crosby
3. Physically aware but spiritually blind – the Pharisees
4. Physically and spiritually aware – the blind after encounter with Jesus

Which one is our position?
I’m afraid I’m no different from Elisha’s servant in 2 Kings 6 that I’m unable to see that God’s presence is in front of my very eyes.

I’m afraid to admit that I’m in the position no.3 – just like the Pharisees (those who thought they can see but rebuked by Jesus as blind –verse39) who can’t see their long-waited Savior is right before their eyes.

It’s better to be physically blind but spiritually witnessing God’s presence very clearly. Fanny J. Crosby is just one excellent example that I can’t help to quote. Her songs have led people to see the Light that even those with perfect eyesight can’t comprehend.

So my prayer responding to this truth is inspired from a famous song, we often sing:

Open my eyes that I may see
Glimpses of truth Thou hast for me;
Place in my hands the wonderful key
That shall unclasp and set me free.

Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready, my God, Thy will to see;
Open my eyes, illumine me,
Spirit Divine!


About this entry