Transgressors

What I learn is that each one of us transgress You countless times in different manners. The fact is that we often fail–though it may differ from person to person–miserably. The fact is, we are all sinners before You. The fact is not that one sins less or in a lesser degree than others, but that everyone sins.

I know what I should do, but the thing I know I should do, I do not do.

And the things are many.

Once I sin I know how far I am from understanding, from knowing Your commandment, Your will; how different I am in action and in thought. And I fail again and again miserably in this. What is good has not been my passion. Whatever is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable I have not put into practice. I know what is good, and I can think, talk, even teach about it. But what’s the use of all that if I don’t do it?

A life that is balanced, integrated–a life full of integrity–is life being aware of Your presence all the time. I can be ignorant about myself and others, and You.

All the while, You are watching.

When I know that You are watching, I shall keep my thoughts and deeds in check. All my life I shall strive to please You alone.

Oh, for more realisation of my own wretchedness and Your grief and love…

I Hear Thy Welcome Voice
(Lewis Hartsough, 1828-1919)

I hear Thy welcome voice
That calls me, Lord, to Thee,
For cleansing in Thy precious blood
That flowed on Calvary.

Refrain:
I am coming, Lord,
Coming now to Thee:
Wash me, cleanse me in the blood
That flowed on Calvary.

Though coming weak and vile,
Thou dost my strength assure;
Thou dost my vileness fully cleanse,
Till spotless all and pure.

‘Tis Jesus calls me on
To perfect faith and love,
To perfect hope and peace and trust,
For earth and heav’n above.

‘Tis Jesus who confirms
The blessed work within,
By adding grace to welcomed grace,
Where reigned the pow’r of sin.

All hail, atoning blood!
All hail, redeeming grace!
All hail, the gift of Christ our Lord,
Our strength and righteousness.


About this entry