I will walk on

But go, act, be strong for the battle. Why should you suppose that God will cast you down before the enemy? For God has power to help or to cast down (2 Chron. 25:8).

Why should I suppose that God will cast me down before the enemy? I should strive to please God alone. Forgive me, Lord, for my sins are ever before me. Forgive me for being reckless with my words. Forgive me for lusting, demanding and pursuing to get what I am not entitled to. O forgive me, gracious Father. Help me to obey You. Why should I suppose that You are unable to face and defeat my sinful self? O, that You would rend the heavens and scatter Your enemies! O, that one of the enemies lies within myself! O the Truth that sets me free, why should I suppose that I am ever in bondage of myself? Give me strength to leave my sins, to shake off the filth and dirts of sin, and walk on. Why should I suppose that there are rights I can claim? O help me not to love men more than You, Lord. For how often have I really longed and thirst and desire after You, Lord? Did I not love earthly things more than You? Did I not long for earthly love rather than the heavenly one? Have faith o my soul! Have faith, through thick and thin, till I see You face to face, in eternity. Amen.


About this entry