Shower

Having lived for more than eight years now in Singapore, I have unconsciously taken for granted many of its conveniences. I realised this when I was taking a shower today. I used to have showers without the water heater turned on. But these days I have been having warm showers. It has been raining every day, the weather is relatively colder, and I always felt like having a warm shower. But today, when I was in the bathroom, I realised I had not switched on the water heater. So I had my shower cold.

Come to think of it, unless we are catching a cold, we should try not to have a warm shower (I am speaking in the context of Singapore, a tropical country, where the temperature is about 30°C for the whole year) for the following reasons:

1. Water heater consumes electricity, and anything to do with temperature (either heating or cooling) tends to be the major energy expense in the house.

2. Less heating means less money to spend for the utility bill.

3. A warm shower tends to be long compared to a cold one. Sometimes a cold shower could be longer; however, the time spent is perhaps not for the shower itself, but for the opening warming-up ‘dance,’ which is good actually, since it compels you to exercise (this could be another advantage of cold showers).

4. Longer shower means less time for other things.

4. A warm shower tends to consume more water, since it is longer.

5. More water means more money to spend for the utility bill.

6. Having cold showers trains us for situations or places where there are no water heaters.

7. Not having warm showers could be an exercise of modesty and simplicity, virtues which are praised in the Bible.


About this entry