Faith and assurance

The following is taken from the book Today’s Evangelism by Ernest C. Reisinger.

Faith is that poor trembling woman, who came behind our Lord in the crowd and touched the hem of His garment.

Assurance is Stephen, standing calmly in the midst of his murderers, saying, “I see the heavens opened and the Son of man standing on the right hand of God.”

Faith is the penitent thief crying, “Lord, remember me.”

Assurance is Job sitting in the dust, covered with sores, saying, “I know that my Redeemer liveth.”

Faith is Peter’s drowning cry as he began to sink, “Lord, save me.”

Assurance is, later, that same Peter, declaring before the council, “There is none other name given under heaven whereby we can be saved, we cannot but speak the things we have seen and heard.”

Faith is Saul praying in the house of Judas at Damascus—sorrowful, blind, and alone.

Assurance is that same aged Paul, now a prisoner, calmly looking into the grave saying, “I know whom I have believed,” and, “There is a crown laid up for me.”

Faith is life. How great the blessing! Who can tell the great gulf between life and death? Yet life may be weak, sickly, unhealthy, painful, trying, worn, burdensome, joyless, to the last.

Assurance is more than life. It is health, strength, power, vigor, energy, comfort, and joy.

Faith is heaven by and by.

Assurance is heaven on earth.


About this entry