Here, there, everywhere

On my birthday morning I remembered everyone so dear and close to my heart. I remembered my parents and siblings in Indonesia, brothers and sisters in Christ in Singapore and other countries, and of course my husband who has left for work. I am here and they are there somewhere—many are very far physically. There was suddenly an intense yearning to be near them that I started crying; I wanted us to be together, to protect and to take care of one another.

I realise that distance and time limit me, and I know that my self is limited. I cannot be in all the places at the same time. I cannot be present with everyone whom I want to be with, all at one time. I can only desire. It is humbling to know that one is limited. God alone is able to. He is everywhere, all the time. He is the omnipresent God. His presence can be enjoyed in every place at all times. It is His divine omnipresence that assures me, just as He is with me now, saving and guiding and upholding me, He is too with everyone whom I love, anytime, anywhere, saving and guiding and upholding them.

“Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there. If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea; Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me” (Psalm 139:7-10).


About this entry